Sreyashi Dastidar, in a piece in The Telegraph wonders if the new love in music necessarily replaces old favourites. You must take a look at the piece for the listing of some of her favourite music–so that you can explore them, in case you haven’t already. I also agree with her complaint that the Indian FM stations pay (if any) scant attention to our classical music. In that respect, there is nothing that beats AIR.

Having said that, I think she over-reacts about the encounter she had with a young girl about her i-pod:

And then, one day, encouraged by the sight of an i-pod-wielding teenager, I self-consciously switched on mine in the Metro. A little too self-consciously, perhaps, because I was soon asked by my fellow i-pod-holder — a sweet girl of about sixteen — what was in my box. I gave her a curtailed list, but found her looking at me expectantly still. “And what bands do you have?” she asked, as if I had deliberately omitted naming them. When I told her I had none, she gave me a sweet (‘kind’ would be my description of it) smile, and that was the end of the conversation. I had a strong suspicion that the generation that wears its i-pods as easily as tattoos and dangling earrings does not take kindly to people like me, whose favourite music-makers are either dead, or have not changed in the last ten years. Did the girl feel like taking my i-pod away? Did she think that people with my music taste were not entitled to an i-pod?

For all you know, the young girl might have wanted to share some  music which was of interest to her (in the same way Dastidar shares her favourite music with us in the article), and having found that her interests are different, might have decided to say nothing.

Long back I read a Tamil short story, in which, an old man realises one day that as far as the intensities go, his love for classical carnatic music and that of an young guy for film music are the same (even though they have nothing to share with each other about their respective favourite music).