Ok, I’ll admit. I’ve failed an organic chemistry test (or two) in my sophomore year of college. I couldn’t help that I understood everything perfectly in class, and blanked on the exams. I’d like to blame my professor (who I’m convinced was at least a hundred and forty three years old at the time) or the time of day that my class was scheduled, but there’s no point in that. I failed it, plain and simple, and I think I’m doing ok with my life despite the ridiculous drop in my gpa that semester. I think this was a pretty common occurence in that particular subject, a class where the average percentage on a test was often forty or below. I used to feel really sorry for myself and for everyone else who got a thirty seven on the exam, because the class wasn’t curved. Now, I’ve found someone I can feel even worse for.

It’s Santhi Soundararajan. She’s a noted athlete who has won numerous titles in track and field. She’s 25, and in the prime of her career. But she risks all of that as reports surfaced today about how she failed a test too. A gender test. According to the article, atheletes are subjected to a gender test in addition to the standard anti-doping measures taken by the pertinent sports association. Apparently, these tests are verified by doctors in three different specialties – Psychiatry, endocrinology, and gynaecology. Implementing the first method alone is drastically inadequate, but my understanding is that the latter two measures are fairly infallible. How do you fail a gender test? There have been previous reports of athletes pretending to be of the opposite sex so they can compete in certain sports. Soundararajan, when asked about the allegations, refused to comment on them, and hasn’t refuted the findings so far. She said,

I was not informed about the test results and I don’t know much on that. I do not want to talk about it”

Sounds guilty to me. But we’ll have to wait until more details are released to find out whether she’s a he.

I’d rather fail an organic chemistry test any day.