I’m crossposting from my personal blog because this is something that has been affecting this blog too.

Yesterday, I found out that a company listed on NASDAQ had been site scrapping The Great Indian Mutiny and Hindu Mommy and using it on their own site.

The company is Web2 Corporation (NASDAQ OTCB: WBTO), which was recently acquired by perpetrators, ByIndia.

You can read more at Got Copy (This is where I first found out about it. Thanks, Manisha !)

I don’t claim to be special. I think they targeted many of the blogs created recently probably thinking that most of us new to the blogging community would be unaware of what’s going on.

My first reaction was disbelief that a big company which had a huge source of resources in terms of writers and programmers would actually sitescrape an unknown blog like mine

But then I thought “They can’t even do something like this properly…I don’t have any site scrape worthy content – Wouldn’t it be better for them if they site scrapped a better site?” D😀 D

Manisha has been actively pursuing these cases of plagiarism with the CEO of the company who says

…The content providers for our blogs need to protect our content better….

What the ??????? . As she rightly points out, the nature of internet is to have content readily available and accesible by any browser or thru bots and feeds

Read more of the CEO’s response here

Yes, I have been also guilty in the past of posting forwarded emails without any idea of who the author(s) were but have been quick to give credit where due when I was made aware of it.

I think this is a different kind of beast – All the posts are there exactly in the order they were posted in- word for word. I can understand maybe if one post is a copy of what’s here. It could be a genuine mistake or  just great minds thinking alike D

All the posts are copied word for word and presented by a company that wants to be the “next big internet company in India” . I wonder what kind of message the investors and the rest of the world are getting from this ..Definitely not the message that the CEO of the company wants them to get !

UPDATE – The posts are still there but not being displayed. They need to delete the blog and all the posts permanently

Manisha also has a link to a great resource – Dealing with Plagiarism – which I’ve realized is a must read for any blogger

And for anyone from Web2Corp or ByIndia reading this post – I just have to say that I am definitely not at all flattered !