My father’s first reaction when he heard that Arackaparambil Kurian Antony (AK Antony) was to be named the new defence minister of India was, “He can’t even take care of his own defence! How do they expect him to take care of the entire country’s defence?”

AK Antony

Now this is not a case of Malayalee carbs pulling each other down. I, for one, is quite proud that a Syrian Christain from Kerala is the new defence minister of our nation.

BUT! Is Antony the right guy for the job? He has never completed any project or office he had held in the past. He resigns at the first scent of controversy or pressure. Yes, he is clean but his track record shows he is not dependable.

The first thought that comes to my mind when I think “AK Antony” is “LAME DUCK”.

I sincerly hope he proves me wrong in his new role. This is one position he can’t afford to screw up on.