I have to admit, I was anti-gay most of my life. 75 per cent of the time I have been on this planet, I was under the impression gay people are paedophiles.No matter what I read or heard, I thought of them as weird and sick. If you told me in college you were gay, I would never talk to you. All this changed when two of my close friends told me that they were gay (and in a relationship with each other). I thought they were joking but they weren’t. I couldn’t take it in for months. I didn’t return their calls, completely ignored them. It wasn’t easy, they were really good people, not the paedophile stereotype I had in mind. I had to come around, they were friends.

I felt guilty soon after. How can I claim to be a civilized human if I considered these guys less than human because of their sexual preference? Why does our law see them as criminals? Isn’t it time we change Section 377?

We, concerned Indian citizens, support the overturning of Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code, a colonial-era law dating to 1861, which punitively criminalizes romantic love and private, consensual sexual acts between adults of the same sex.

vsVikram Seth has started the Mutiny to have Section 377 of IPC revoked with an open letter to the government. It’s gathering momentum. I’m not sure what the view of other Mutineers are on this. I for one, support his open letter. It’s an outdated law and changing it would go a long way in changing attitudes towards homosexuality in our country.

On a lighter note, how many bloggers out there do you know can post about the Pope and Gay rights within 24 hours? Love all🙂