LRMB

 

Saw Lage Raho Munna Bhai last night. Loved it and I strongly recommend it.I usually don’t go for Hindi movies because of the language issue. I do see Mani Rathnam and Priyadarshan movies remade into Hindi from their original Malayalam/Tamil. Company, Satya, RDB, Dil Chahte hai and Munna Bhai MBBS are few of the movies I have enjoyed.

I was looking forward to Lage Raho Munna Bhai and it has lived up to all the hype. The script is well written and give you an impression the director does not take his audience from granted. It’s a fun film, I laughed my guts out on several occasions during the film.

The songs too are nice and a welcome change from the ‘I’m your bad girl’ remixes currently ruling the Bollywood charts. Vidhya Balan is truly Indian. I say that because I haven’t been able to find from where exactly in India she is from. Many say she is Malayalee (mostly Malayalees say that), Tamils say that she is TamilšŸ™‚. The truth might be that she is a Palakad Malayalee. She is grew up in Chennai, Bombay and Kolkatta.

I liked the way they dealt with Gandhi (although they should have worked a bit more on his make up, that was perhaps theĀ  only let down). The script stuck to Gandhi’s teachings and did not try to flex it or give the character some kind of super natural powers. The ‘Chemical imbalance’ explanation on why Munna sees Gandhi also deals with the situation intelligently and gives the script a essence of realism.

I would really like this movie to be remembered for starting a Gandhigiri revolution. Will it? We can only hope.

I will buy a DVD of this film once this is out. I have a hunch that the next installment in the Munna Bhai sequence will be Munna Bhai MLA or MP.